more options

PAST EVENTS

Spring 2013

Abdullahi Ahmed An-Na'im - "Islam and the Secular State"

Wednesday, April 17, 2013 - 4:45pm to Thursday, April 18, 2013 - 12:00pm

Kaufmann Auditorium, Goldwin Smith Hall (April 17th)
Room 390, Myron Taylor Hall (April 18th)


Saree Makdisi - "Making England Western"

Wednesday, March 6, 2013 - 4:45pm to Thursday, March 7, 2013 - 10:00am

Kaufmann Auditorium, Goldwin Smith Hall (March 6th)
Toboggan Lodge, Cornell University (March 7th)


Paulina Aroch-Fugellie - "Leverage: Art and Disavowal, Mexico 2012"

Thursday, February 21, 2013 - 4:45pm

Toboggan Lodge, Cornell University


Anindita Banerjee - "Petromodernity: Post-Soviet Fiction and the Biopolitics of Oil"

Tuesday, February 5, 2013 - 4:45pm

Toboggan Lodge, Cornell University

Anindita Banerjee (Associate Professor, Comparative Literature, Cornell University)


Fall 2012

Ibrahim El-Salahi - "The Artist in His Own Words."

Wednesday, November 28, 2012 - 4:45pm

Multipurpose Room, Africana Studies and Research Center

Ibrahim El-Salahi (Sudanese Artist)


Elizabeth Giorgis - "The Visual and the Text: Ethiopian Modernism, an Alternative Reading.

Tuesday, November 6, 2012 - 4:45pm

Toboggan Lodge, Cornell University


Achille Mbembe - “Frantz Fanon and the Subject of Emancipation”

Tuesday, October 16, 2012 - 4:45pm to Wednesday, October 17, 2012 - 10:00am

Kaufmann Auditorium, Goldwin Smith Hall (October 16th)
Toboggan Lodge (October 17th)


Wang Hui - "The Decline of Representation: Another Inquiry on the Equality of What"

Tuesday, September 4, 2012 - 4:45pm to Wednesday, September 5, 2012 - 10:00am

Kaufmann Auditorium, Goldwin Smith Hall (September 4th)
Toboggan Lodge, Cornell University (September 5th)


ICM 2012 ANNUAL CONFERENCE - “Global Anarchisms: No Gods, No Masters, No Peripheries.”

Friday, September 21, 2012 - 4:45pm to Saturday, September 22, 2012 - 8:00pm

Africana Studies and Research Center