more options

PAST EVENTS

Fall 2009

Saba Mahmood - "Politics of Religious Freedom"

Tuesday, November 3, 2009 - 4:45pm

Lewis Auditorium, Goldwin Smith Hall


Ibrahim Mohammed El-Salahi - "Project Memoir"

Monday, October 19, 2009 - 5:00pm

Toboggan Lodge, Cornell University

NEW CONVERSATIONS SERIES


Ushari Khalil - "Devil in the Judiciary – Corruption in the Hybrid Islamic-Common Law Courts of Sudan"

Tuesday, October 6, 2009 - 5:00pm

Toboggan Lodge

NEW CONVERSATIONS SERIES


Mahmoud Darwish Memorial

Thursday, September 24, 2009 - 6:30pm

A.D. White House, Cornell University


Fall 2008

Naoki Sakai - "Patterns of Postcolonial Ressentiment: From Area Studies to Transnational Studies"

Tuesday, September 15, 2009 - 4:45pm

Kaufman Auditorium, Goldwin Smith Hall


Asef Bayat "Making Islam Democratic: Social Movements and the Post-Islamist Turn"

Wednesday, October 29, 2008 - 5:00pm

Kaufman Auditorium, Goldwin Smith Hall


Susan Buck-Morss - "Who Owns Time? Picturing the Apocalypse After the Hijra,"

Thursday, October 9, 2008 - 5:00pm

Kaufman Auditorium, Goldwin Smith Hall


Working Groups "The Space-Time of Modernity and Global Hierarchies"

Tuesday, May 12, 2009 - 9:00am to Thursday, May 14, 2009 - 9:00pm

Participants: Gurminder Bhambra, Susan Buck-Morss, Michael Löwy, Fouad Makki, Kamran Matin, Justin Rosenberg, Naoki Sakai, Robbie


Spring 2009

Biodun Jeyifo, "Generative Afropessimism, Nollywood, and the Postmodernity of Corruption and Dispossession”

Monday, March 30, 2009 - 4:30pm

Kaufmann Auditorium, Goldwin Smith Hall 
reception to follow at the A.D. White House


Elizabeth Povinelli - "Road Kill: Giving Up, Giving In and Getting Even in Late Liberalism"

Thursday, February 26, 2009 - 4:30pm

Kaufman Auditorium, Goldwin Smith Hall

Elizabeth Povinelli (Professor of Anthropology, Columbia University)